Jean-Michel Basquiat – Angel

Jean-Michel Basquiat - Angel

Jean-Michel Basquiat – American Icon.
Currently on display at Gagosian Gallery NYC through April 6th.

THE MECHANICS OF PAIN

I didnt have to see a suave king
to know it was my brother

I didn’t have to know his origins in a
nourishing wholesome world to know it’s my brother

I didnt have to see a joyous man with ehoes from chambers that sounded with harmony for me to know
that’s my brother

For his mechanical cry
his jazz and blues deermination
his grafitti climbing into places that refuse to die
are my other half.

I embrace the world we were brought to
the world we have to fight through
the world we’ve fallen into

But over the hill
I see another life
Over the hustling games
I see a new rise
Past the dope dealers’ pride and
his children’s fall
I see the making of a new artist
Born from the quickening in the speed of sound
Back upright with his feet on the ground.

Aileen Muhammad copyright 2013

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

