Miriam Makeba : Angel

Miriam Makeba : Angel

Miriam Makeba, Amandla.
In the 1960s she was the first artist from Africa to popularize African music around the world. She is best known for the song “Pata Pata”, first recorded in 1957 and released in the U.S. in 1967. She recorded and toured with many popular artists, such as Harry Belafonte, Paul Simon, and her former husband Hugh Masekela.
Makeba campaigned against the South African system of apartheid. The South African government responded by revoking her passport in 1960 and her citizenship and right of return in 1964. As the apartheid system crumbled she returned home for the first time in 1990.

Shout out Esta Naomi!

I dont see your eyes and I know who you are
I cant hear your song yet I’m twin with your star

I cant see your face but your gesture declares
This world that’s forsaken does not mean a thing

This golden bloom rides my corpuscles
shatters my epidermis
makes the necessary quake
and bows

I dont see your face but your substance replaced
coward episodes of making men boys
making girls women
and making clowns lead….

Atoms scream in your stance
Freedom required, Justice my drink.

Aileen Muhammad copyright 2013

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

