A New Perception of the Earth : Aileen Surrey Jefferson

A New Perception of the Earth : Aileen Surrey Jefferson

A New Perception of the Earth

Is this the same green tree I saw yesterday when I went to bed?
Is this the same blue sky I saw when I closed my eyes?
Is this the same azure expanse that said good night to me?
It can’t be the same moon shine that resided in the atmopshere.
But as I gaze at my surroundings I believe it is.
O happpiness! I am in Philadelphia, but it’s a new Philadelphia.
I hear a new bird song
I’m listening to a wealth of new sounds and vibrations…
A feeling of excitement. Where am I?
A new abode, new sensations with the same charming
harmony…
My own peaceful sanctuary achieved by my own wit and industry.

March 9th, 2012
by Aileen Jefferson, born 11/1/25

Forward from Coward and Angels by Aileen Muhammad

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

